Illawarra Shoalhaven

Illawarra Shoalhaven

Joint Organisation

Working together to deliver outcomes that matter to our region

The Illawarra Shoalhaven Joint Organisation
(ISJO) consists of four member councils:

Wollongong shellharbour Kiama shoalhaven

Our region is renowned for its scenic beauty, diversity and innovative industrial, service, creative and knowledge economy.

The Illawarra Shoalhaven covers a land area of 5,656 square kilometres.  It has a population of over 430,000 and a gross regional product (GRP) in excess of $23 billion.  Over 212,000 people earn their living here.

The Illawarra Shoalhaven is one of Australia’s most significant regional contributors to national prosperity.  It is a region on the move.

Acknowledgement of country

ISJO acknowledges the Dharawal and Yuin People, Traditional Custodians of the lands of our region and we pay our respects to their Elders, past present and emerging.


Biosecurity – Illawarra District Weeds Authority

Biosecurity – Illawarra District Weeds Authority

The Illawarra District Weeds Authority was established by Wollongong, Shellharbour and Kiama Councils in 1993.


A strong, resilient and engaged Illawarra Shoalhaven region can be achieved through systemic improvements with plans, resources and technologies that…
Environment & Sustainability

Environment & Sustainability

Environment & Sustainability Current Projects


Directly or in partnership with a wide range of stakeholders the ISJO is involved in the commissioning and delivery of leading edge research and evaluation activities.

These include, for 2022/2023 our Capacity Building Program and a wide range of environmental and circular economy initiatives.

Strategic Planning

A core function of ISJO is regional strategic planning, encompassing high level planning across the region.